



Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists

CEO

17 May 2024 Sent via email

Dear valued stakeholder

Introducing our recently elected leaders

On behalf of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA) and its Faculty of Pain Medicine (FPM), it is my pleasure to inform you of the appointment of Professor David Story as ANZCA President and Dr Dilip Kapur as FPM Dean.

Both Professor Story and Dr Kapur commenced office at the recent AGMs of ANZCA and FPM in May 2024.

About Dr David Story, ANZCA President

Professor Story is a Melbourne-based staff anaesthetist at the Austin Hospital where he provides perioperative care for most procedural specialties including liver transplantation. Dr Story is also Foundation Chair of Anaesthesia at the University of Melbourne, and Head of the University Department of Critical Care. His main research interest is clinical and cost-effective approaches to reduce perioperative risk, complications, disability and mortality.

He is a former chair of the college's Safety and Quality Committee and a research leader. Dr Story is also a strong advocate for perioperative medicine and played a key role in the development of the new ANZCA Course in Perioperative Medicine.

Professor Story will be supported by recently elected ANZCA Vice President, Dr Tanya Selak, from Wollongong who is the first New South Wales woman to hold this position.

Professor Story can be reached via president@anzca.edu.au.

About Dr Dilip Kapur, FPM Dean

Dr Kapur has held key FPM positions including faculty assessor and is a past chair of the FPM Training and Assessment Executive Committee. He has a strong interest in the provision of pain management services to rural communities and First Nations' health, and ensuring equitable access to pain treatment in Australia and New Zealand.

Dr Kapur will be supported by recently elected FPM Vice Dean, Dr Leinani Salamasina Aiono-Le-Tagaloa, from Auckland who is Samoan and the first and most senior Indigenous doctor to have attained such a position in ANZCA.

Dr Kapur can be reached via FPMDean@anzca.edu.au.



Outgoing leaders

Dr Chris Cokis is the outgoing ANZCA president and Dr Kieran Davis the outgoing FPM Dean. Both will continue to contribute to the college and faculty in their roles as immediate past president and immediate past dean where they will bring valuable insights to the work of the college.

Both Professor Story and Dr Kapur look forward to working with you over their leadership terms of the next two years and welcome the opportunity to meet and discuss key items that impact the training, education, research and clinical standards relating to the specialist anaesthetist and specialist pain medicine physician workforce.

Yours sincerely

Ntrage

Mr Nigel Fidgeon Chief Executive Officer